top of page
  • lmsapublications

Luis Fernando Valdez

Southwest Region

Co-Director Elect

McGovern Medical School, MS3, Class of 2023

What are your biggest takeaways from serving with LMSA this year?

There is power is numbers! If you have an idea in mind, share it with your group and work to make it happen.


What advice do you have for those pursuing LMSA leadership in the future, or just leadership opportunities in general?

Don't forget that school takes priority over extracurriculars but if you are passionate and have the time then get involved! LMSA is filled with wonderful people that share on common mission and it really feels like a big family. If you don't get a position, don't give up. Look for other ways to stay involved and try again later. When a door closes, a window opens.


Who are your biggest heroes - parents, figures, partners, etc...?

My mom! She left Mexico looking for better opportunities for my brother and I and here I am now studying to become a doctor while my brother halfway through college working to get his bachelor degree.


What does your career in medicine look like to you?

Helping marginalized groups get the care that they need and deserve. I have a special interest in helping patients through their rehabilitation process after undergoing a traumatic event.


Hobbies:

Spending time with my wife and daughter, playing tennis, and watching marvel movies with my brother.

10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page