top of page

Adapting

Ana Mort, MS2, Saint Louis University School of Medicine


I moved to the U.S. with my family at 6 years old from central Mexico. 

The culture and language were taught to me in the school system for the most part. 

My teachers and classmates were unkind to me at my school.

Racism was normal. 

I was the butt of most jokes at school. 

The stereotypes were just “endearing” jokes. “Did you jump the border?” “Are you illegal?”

It was easy to brush off since a lot of it didn’t make sense to me at the time. 


Regardless, school ended up being a place I loved.

I became a fast learner and enjoyed being challenged. 

I remember the day my teacher told me I had to leave ESL because my English was too good.

I had worried I was going to fail 4th grade that summer. 

“Meli, quiz me! I don’t want to fail,” I would tell my sister. 

From then on, I started receiving awards for the top scores in class in middle school…then high school…then college. 


In medical school, my ethnicity is sometimes still the focus of how people see me. 

They call it “affirmative action.”

It was “easier” for me. 


Going to a school away from my family, in a different country, and a different language at the age of 6 was “easy.” 

Analyzing the politics of my identity while in my elementary classroom was “easy.”

Growing up missing birthdays, weddings, and funerals was “easy.” 

Watching loved ones through a video call on WhatsApp was “easy.” 


As I got older, I realized this wasn’t just unique to me but also experienced by other immigrants. From a young age, adapting was the way of life for my classmates and me in that ESL classroom. 


I am going to be a doctor. 

This was not what the system expected or wanted. 

I do it for my inner child and others like me. 

Sí se puede.


About the Author: Ana P. Mort is a medical student at Saint Louis University School of Medicine. She is interested in anesthesiology and radiology. Her areas of interest include health disparities, gender equity, legislation, and mentoring. Her involvement includes Vanderbilt Anesthesia Summer Research Program, MGH IR/DR Research Collaborative, LMSA, and running a Women in Anesthesiology chapter. Ana's med twitter is @Medicina_am. 


About the Work: Experiencing the education system as a young, Mexican immigrant.

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page