top of page

HIV/AIDS & Stigma: An evaluation of HIV/AIDS stigma construction and prevalence in San Antonio, Texas and Azerbaijan

Updated: Feb 10

Jullian Valadez


Please click here to find the piece:


Disclaimer: The Works published in this Journal do not reflect an official position or stance of the LMSA.


About the Author: My name is Jullian Valadez and I am a third-year medical student at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. I was born and raised in Houston, Texas- and attended college at Trinity University in San Antonio. My work on HIV/AIDS stigma came from my experiences working with those living with HIV/AIDS and their stories. I chose Azerbaijan as this is where my mother is from, and where I frequently visit to understand how a similar health/cultural epidemic has evolved. My father's family is from Coahuila, and we take pride in our heritage and Native identity- so much so that we are interested in analyzing and undoing some of the harm that was fostered in large part due to colonial forces. With this passion, I serve on the executive board for Vanderbilt's LMSA, and SNMA, and head the Native American equity task force for the medical center.


About the Work: Focusing on HIV/AIDS cases from two particular sites – San Antonio, Texas, and Baku, Azerbaijan –my work explores both the psychological and emotional stigmas that fuel the damaging narratives of the disease. These narratives are deeply rooted in the cultural norms, religions, traditions, and social structures of these two vastly different regions. Drawing on the theories of world-renowned sociologist Erving Goffman, my goal was to situate their study of HIV/AIDS narratives at the origin point of infection as the marker of how stigmas form and develop – often causing psychic and bodily trauma to those living with the disease. The case studies I employ structure a comparative analysis of how HIV/AIDS narratives are both constructed by, and have the capacity to adapt to, changing cultural values around the globe.

17 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page