top of page

Peritoneal Di(e)alysis?

Juan Cuecha, MS2, Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine








About the Author: Hi! My name is Juan Cuecha and I am a second-year medical student at Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine. I was born in Bogota Colombia and moved to the United States when I was 10 months old. Currently, I am interested in Pediatric Emergency medicine. In addition, I have a passion for advocating for undocumented students, as I myself, am DACAmented. 


About the Work: A short picture story sequence that depicts the tiring day-to-day routine that my father experienced when he was on peritoneal dialysis. Despite this life-saving treatment's ability to filter waste from my father's blood, what most people don't realize is the associated mental anguish that results from having to rely on a machine to survive.

52 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 comentários


Jordy Salcedo
Jordy Salcedo
04 de fev.

Hola Juan! Thank you for posting this amazing piece! I am a Pediatric Nephrologist (y tambien Colombiano) and work with a lot of kids of hemo- and peritoneal-dialysis. People definitely don’t realize all the work and psychosocial stress that goes into depending on dialysis, even on PD at home. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful, personal piece

Curtir
jdcuecha98
11 de fev.
Respondendo a

Hello Dr. Salcedo, thank you for those kind words and I’m glad it resonated with you! I completely agree with your words, I hope this piece helps shed on that struggle.

Curtir
bottom of page