top of page

Your Community Needs You

Kennedy Campbell, Master’s Year, University of Chicago


I vividly remember my neighbor recovering from a foot amputation as a result of uncontrolled diabetes. Unaware of diabetic ulcers and afraid to visit the doctor after his foot became infected, it was already too late. We lived just 6 minutes away from the Illinois Medical District. I grew up in Pilsen, a predominantly Latino neighborhood located in Chicago’s Lower West Side. Full of artwork in the form of exhibitions and street murals, Pilsen is rich in culture. 


Our beautiful and vibrant neighborhood housed a community of residents suffering in silence. I saw the negative consequences of health disparities at an early age, including food insecurity, poverty, and cultural and language barriers. After school, my siblings and I frequently made our way down to the church basement to volunteer at the local soup kitchen. Although this was a small impact, one tiny piece to solving this puzzle, we were doing what we could to give back to our community. Having this exposure at such an early age motivated me to continue giving back to the community throughout my teenage years into adulthood. Before I knew it, I was volunteering with Chicago-based non-profits and participating in community engagement. 


These skills I learned, I took with me to college at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. The University of Illinois, a predominantly white institution, was the place where I would make an impact, working to increase college enrollment and retention for other first-generation and minority students in higher education. The Office of Minority Student Affairs, or OMSA, was the epicenter of student resources and support services. 


As a first-generation college student, OMSA offered tutoring and advising. I even used their tutoring for my introductory biology and chemistry classes. I eventually became an OMSA Ambassador, where I advocated for first-generation, low-income, and historically underrepresented students on campus like myself. I volunteered at new student days, coordinated study lock-ins, and spoke on panels, including our annual First-Generation Celebration. I was able to give back to students in meaningful ways, even as a first-generation college student. As under-qualified as I thought I was, still starting as a freshman undergrad, I was still able to make a difference on campus. All it takes is being willing to take on leadership and volunteering roles to give back to your community. For me, this was volunteering my time mentoring students, sharing academic resources, and volunteering at events. The most important part of this experience was being the representation I wanted to see in higher education and STEM alike. 



During 2020, my second semester of college, the COVID-19 pandemic began to take a toll. Our local soup kitchen closed, leaving dozens of families and Pilsen residents without a reliable source for nutritious meals that were once available. Food insecurity was an important issue, especially during this crisis. During this time, I started a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization called The Pilsen Promise Project for COVID-19 relief. Our mission is to provide nutritious food to Pilsen residents facing food insecurity and to help those in need. My siblings, Kelsey and William Campbell, and I help distribute food, meal kits, medical supplies, and other basic living necessities to low-income residents in Pilsen for COVID-19 relief, poverty alleviation, and improved food security. We also organize food drives and clothing drives in the Pilsen neighborhood. During the holiday season, we restock our local community fridge and coordinate our Annual Thanksgiving Turkey Drive for families throughout the community. 



Our other collaborations include collaborating with other Chicago-based non-profits and their initiatives and local churches. We recently celebrated 3 years on September 16th as an incorporated non-profit in the state of Illinois. We share this date with Mexican Independence Day, which is significant to both our team and the greater community. As we offer medical supplies and first-aid kits, we encourage health promotion. 


Now, as a Master’s Candidate in Biomedical Sciences at the University of Chicago, health promotion and community engagement are important to me more than ever. Being immersed in the community means addressing cultural and language barriers. To me, it means restoring trust between the community and the medical field. As I start applying to medical schools, I take with me the knowledge I gained in leadership and community service, and I thank my community, my mentors, family, and friends who have helped me every step of the way. 
















Remember that your community needs you. People living just minutes away from the hospital are affected by health disparities every day. Students at your own institution may need resources or even a mentor. Find ways, whether it be big or small, to support your community.


About the Author: Kennedy Katalinda Campbell is a Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences Candidate at the University of Chicago. She received her B.S. in Interdisciplinary Health Sciences at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, in which she was the Student Convocation Speaker and Senior 100 Honorary Recipient. Founder of her university’s first undergraduate chapter of the Latino Medical Student Association, Kennedy’s values align with increasing diversity and representation in higher education and the medical field. Additionally, she volunteers as the President of the The Pilsen Promise Project, and Ambassador at the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) Summer Health Professions Education Program. 


About the Work: A personal narrative about my experience in community service in Chicago and leadership on campus. Through every step in my education, I was given the opportunity to contribute to the greater good of my community. It serves as a reminder to us all to give back and serve vulnerable groups that need our help.

82 views0 comments

留言


bottom of page