top of page

No Boxes

J Conrado, MS2


My existence is a resistance

 

The size of my body offends you

But I refuse to diminish

My value is not linked to my willingness to reduce

Survival is in my softness

There is a universe within me

 

My mestizo features

My skin’s ambiguous shade

Curious

You ask, “What are you?”

I am a product

Of violence

The stories of my ancestors in the helixes of my curls

And of my DNA

 

You like my eyes

You like them because ojos claros betray

Colonizers’ blood in my veins

But there is war in the color

if you look closely enough

 

You call me a woman

I reject that claim

Woman, man

I am neither, I am both

The binary is not my place

I am everything and nothing

I am space

 

I am an outcome

Measured by how much I can achieve

In a world that cannot hold me

Still, I try to hold it

With tenderness and love

While I heal

And learn to love me

 

My existence is a resistance


About the Author: I was born in Maryland to an American mother and a Nicaraguan immigrant father, but I grew up in Southwest Florida. I am a second-year medical student with a non-traditional background--I was a nurse for 9 years before attending medical school. As a future physician, I hope to mitigate some of the problematic aspects of the healthcare system by practicing with cultural humility, using my voice for advocacy, and generating discussions that question peoples' perceptions. In my personal day-to-day life, I am a curious, passionate person who enjoys being in awe of nature, snuggling my gatito purrfecto, getting lost in fantasy books, dancing, eating, and ADHD-hobby-hopping.


About the Work: I am a neurodivergent, bicultural, queer medical student who is often fighting labels assigned to me as well as my own internalized biases—pushing for change in medicine, in myself, and beyond. I view my presence in medical education spaces as a form of resistance because the system was not made for someone like me. This is a very personal piece that I created in response to my journey toward body neutrality in a sizeist world; embracing my ancestry and my Latinidad despite being made to feel not "white enough" but not "Latine* enough" either; coming to terms with my gender identity; and accepting my ADHD neurodivergence despite living in an ableist society. It is a comment on undoing intergenerational trauma and how my path to self-acceptance sometimes challenges others' perceptions and expectations of me.

12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page