top of page

Sangre Morena

Updated: Jan 30

Lorena Miss Ozuna, B.S University of Michigan Ann Arbor


I stand coated and educated.

But they don’t know; I come from healers.

From herbs, sacrifices, and prayers.

From a wealth of knowledge

Knowledge that transformed my own mother’s life.

 When doctors claimed there was no other option 

But amputating her legs

A stranger to medication

Aged but distilled in wisdom

From the riches of spices

Spices that grew admiring the blazing sun

And stay rooted in the same Aztec soil

That once breathed life into their dreams

From hearts that run, blood that thickens

At the sight of injustice

For the peace of humanity

Warm bodies that once danced by the fire. Beating hearts that fought off invaders

Beaming minds that decorated with feathers

They are alive

In me.


About the Author: Lorena Miss Ozuna graduated from the University of Michigan Ann Arbor in May with a Bachelor of Science in Biology, Health, and Society and a minor in Business. She is excited to be applying to medical school this upcoming cycle!


About the Work: "Sangre Morena" is a poem about my indigenous roots that encompass my Mexican identity. As I pursue a career in Western medicine, it is important for me to acknowledge my ancestors -- individuals that are not seen -- who have made it possible for me to pursue my dream of becoming a physician.


37 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page