top of page

San-Joaquin Valley Education Equity Initiative: A Pipeline Program to Encourage Youth to Pursue Higher Education through Pre-Health Immersion Fairs

Updated: Jan 29

Andrew Contreras



About the Author: I was raised in the agricultural community of Madera, California. As a first-generation Latino and the first in my family to earn a college degree, my educational journey began at Madera High School and continued at Madera Community College, where I majored in business administration and biology. Later, I transferred to Fresno State, where I earned a B.S. in biology with minors in physical science and sociology. In my free time, I enjoy taking my dog Mescal on walks and playing both soccer and pickleball. Throughout my life, I've had various jobs, from gardening to selling baked goods outside supermarkets, to help support my family financially. These experiences working in different roles and serving the Central Valley community gave me a unique perspective on the populations and disparities that exist. Witnessing firsthand the social inequities, underrepresentation, and challenges faced by Central Valley residents inspired me to pursue a career as a physician. Madera holds a special place in my heart, and being part of SJV is a dream come true for me. Giving back to the Central Valley community is a fundamental part of my identity, and I plan to carry this principle forward as a physician, serving my community. My interests revolve around addressing the lack of diverse resources within Madera and the Central Valley. I aspire to establish and expand community, health, and education programs through public policy to ensure that disadvantaged community members have access to safe and positive resources.


About the Work: The "San Joaquin Valley Education Equity Initiative" research project aims to inspire students, particularly in the Latinx community, to pursue higher education through pre-health immersion fairs. Madera County's low 15% college degree attainment, coupled with economic challenges for Hispanic/Latino students, motivated the project. The fair included interactive activities and an educational panel, with a 54% student survey response rate. Results revealed significant gains in college knowledge, career insights, and interest in health sciences. The study highlights the potential of such events to break down educational barriers, promote health equity, and inclusivity. Feedback informs ongoing improvements.

20 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page