top of page

Utilization of Mentorship to Ameliorate Imposter Syndrome in URiM Individuals

Updated: Jan 29

Jorge Garavito




About the Author: My name is Jorge Andrés Garavito and I am a first-generation Mexican-American from the small town of Nogales, Arizona. I graduated with a B.S. in Biomedical Sciences and a B.A. in Global Health from Arizona State University in December of 2021. I am now a second year medical student at The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University interested in Orthopaedic and Hand Surgery. I am passionate about improving orthopaedic care for Latin@s and increasing representation of Latin@s in medicine. I enjoy weight lifting, snowboarding, tennis, soccer, exploring, and hanging at the beach.


About the Work: This is a "Letter to the Editor" of the AAMC Academic Medicine Journal. It is in the format of a personal narrative of a transformative experience that I had as a Latino in pursuing medicine. Myself, along with the vast majority of URiM individuals, experience imposter syndrome. My experience with my mentor is a testament that individuals require others who look like them and share similar lived experiences to feel a true sense of belonging. In order to begin to dismantle the detrimental effect of imposter syndrome on students and future physicians like myself, it is imperative to increase the diversity of medical education institutions.

20 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page