top of page

Healer

Adrian Alepuz

MS2, Nova Southeastern University's Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Allopathic Medicine


Hallow and afraid, I approach

Uncertain


I collect myself

Recalling my transgressions


Before the Aesculapian priestess

I make my confession


Yet the honest judge does not condemn me

But gives me hope


Vulnerable upon the altar of medicine, I lay

Exposed


Yet her healing touch is gentle

Soothing


Grounded in tradition, the ritual performed


Generational knowledge embodied

In her hands lies my fate


My fear isolated, she unroots and abolishes it

Renewing my soul


Uplifted, my life is restored

My vow to live anew


Adrian Alepuz is a second-year medical student at Nova Southeastern University's Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Allopathic Medicine. Prior to coming to NSU, Adrian received his Master’s degree in Biomedical Sciences from Vanderbilt University, and his B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Cornell University. Adrian's research currently focuses on improving measures used to clinically diagnose bone disease, as well as the factors that contribute to fatigue life in trabecular bone. In the future, Adrian hopes to be an orthopaedic surgeon and use his experience in bone biomechanics to develop techniques that better predict fracture risk in osteoporotic patients, as well as design technology to help improve patient outcomes. Additionally, Adrian hopes to serve the Latino community by establishing a bilingual practice and promoting a more inclusive healthcare system. True to his Cuban roots, Adrian loves dominos and salsa dancing, and in his spare time he enjoys weightlifting, windsurfing, and playing water polo.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page