top of page

Trends and Immediate Outcomes of Syncope During Pregnancy: A Narrative Review

Updated: Jan 29

Rafael Cortorreal Javier


Please click here to see the paper:


About the Author: My name is Rafael Cortorreal Javier, I am a final year student originally from the Dominican Republic. I started studying medicine after having been a baseball player for most of my life. Nowadays, medicine, more than a collection of goals for me, is a dream that has made the best of me grow and in the process I have been able to learn much more than just pure science. Furthermore, I have characterized myself by having faith in my Lord Jesus Christ who has led me by the hand to where I am today. In this article I had the opportunity to collaborate with people from all over the world, an enriching experience.


About the Work: Pregnancy-related syncope poses challenges due to rapid physiological changes during gestation. This review outlines patterns and outcomes associated with syncope during pregnancy, emphasizing the increased burden. Understanding its significance is crucial for medical professionals, as syncope adversely affects maternal and fetal health. Summarizing data from various studies, including observational studies and case reports, the review underscores the importance of early detection and proper management. Cardiac syncope in pregnant women poses risks to neonatal and maternal outcomes. The review highlights diverse trends in syncope incidence during pregnancy, emphasizing the need for nuanced temporal understanding. Immediate maternal repercussions include injury risks, uteroplacental insufficiency, psychological effects, interruptions in prenatal treatment, aggravation of pre-existing diseases, and lifestyle changes. Pregnancy-related syncope is complex, impacting both mother and fetus. The study emphasizes careful clinical treatment due to rapid results and diverse incidence patterns. The potential link to offspring brain health warrants further investigation.

10 views0 comments

Комментарии


bottom of page