top of page

Oh, dulce América


Daisy Salazar

Master's Student, Drexel University College of Medicine


These poems can be found on Instagram, with audio of me reading them:



Objective: Through a Spanish poem I intended to capture the anxiety, fear, and vulnerable position the Latino community faced during COVID-19, while also subsequently allowing a call-to-action of the powerful tool getting vaccinated for COVID-19 can do towards protecting others.


About the Author: My name is Daisy Salazar. I was born & raised in Los Angeles, California. I am a First-Generation college graduate currently living in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, working on obtaining my Master’s in Interdisciplinary Health Sciences. I identified as a Mexican-American who wants to utilize the knowledge gained to empower and expand healthcare information to my community, who often experience inadequate care, poor healthcare outcomes, and healthcare illiteracy. As a Latina pursuing a field prominently exclusive of my gender, race, and ethnicity, my experiences have shaped me to strengthen and unify opportunities to improve healthcare for the medically underserved population. In pursuit of helping my community, I have served in California’s FQHC AltaMed, as a Community Health Fellow, as a patient representative, and as a project intern. Throughout these experiences, I have bridged the gap in promoting health wellness & preventive care measures, educated the community, & supported COVID-19 containment efforts. I continued this work in Philadelphia through volunteering services in Puentes de Salud, however focusing more on the youth. What I have learned through these experiences is the common theme of serving my Latino community and the privilege of having access to obtaining an education.


LMSA Journal Sponsor:





25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Healer

bottom of page