top of page

One Day

David Marulanda, M1

Drexel University College of Medicine



Glassy, glossy plastic reflecting the rising sun

Into the stifling humid summer air.

The dark, decadent coffee in my hand almost done.

Early morning New York City still sleeping without a care.


Security glances up robotically.

Less than a second and I’m through,

But I can feel his eyes scan my badge, my face, my soul.

I smile, he doesn’t.

“Good morning,” I say to the empty lobby.


White halls filled with the scent of sterility -

Alcohol, reminding me of summers

With my grandfather in Colombia,

though he chose aguardiente and not hand sanitizer.


The elevator opens and I float up.

Only the number on the wall tells me where I am now.

Ten. Nine below and more above all the same

To the uninitiated, like patients and me.


I notice my sweaty palms, my chest thumping.

I am a medical scribe,

In charge of nothing, unseen, unnoticed.

I make a difference I tell myself as I meet my team.


I’ll make a difference on

My first day

At work, on the unit, in healthcare.

One day I’ll be a doctor.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trepanation

Tiffany Sanchez, MS2 Angel Chavez, MS2 San Juan Bautista School of Medicine Two thousand years ago, crainiometries, previously called trepanations, were successfully completed due to the advanced surg

A Giant Discovery

Angel D. Chavez Rivera, MS2 San Juan Bautista School of Medicine Pursuing my dreams required commitment and determination. The sacrifices of my family and community to help me achieve a better educati

Pressure

David Marulanda, M1 Drexel University College of Medicine “Hi, what brings you in?” asked the doctor rapidly, the voice all business With the practiced look of “empathy” learned in medical school cour

bottom of page