top of page

Sí se puede

Jose Antonio Ibarra Rodriguez

Incoming MS1


I remember applying for Medical School in 2017. I was hopeful and uncertain at the same time. Months later, after completing 20 applications, I only received one interview.


My interview experience was one to remember. My flight was delayed and landed mere hours before my interview. I was sleep deprived, but most of all, I was nervous. I have always put a lot of pressure on myself to do things right and eventually succeed. Things did not happen the way I wanted them to. I was waitlisted and ultimately not granted admission. This is my story of perseverance, discipline, and motivation. Because, yes-- “Sí se puede.”


My name is Jose. I am a DACA recipient from south Texas. For DACA applicants like me, the Journey towards medicine is arduous and tumultuous. It often chips away at us. We have limited medical schools we can apply to, and the application cycle itself continues to be daunting. As I prepared to reapply, I felt pressure to create a perfect application. What if I don’t get in? I wondered countless times, to the point where my brain sounded like a broken record. “Take a gap year, learn about yourself, and learn from your first attempt to get into medical school.” But one year became three. Life happens.


Retrospectively speaking, it was for the best. As a recent college graduate, I was not ready for medical school. I did not understand myself the way I do now. I did know one thing, though: medicine continued to be my passion. I wanted to serve communities like mine and pursue a specialty that would serve the needs of my community.


I got to work. I retook my MCAT, connected with professionals who helped me get here today. One of the most important lessons that I have learned is to ask for help. This was always something difficult for me, possibly due to the indirect teachings of my culture: be independent, self-sufficient, and resilient. I eventually learned to seek guidance and constructive feedback in order to craft a strong personal statement and decide on a school list. Which schools will support me? Which ones have DACA students matriculated? What are their mission and values?” Everyone I asked advice from responded with an enthusiastic yes. It was heartwarming to learn that people were so willing to support me in the pursuit of my goals.


After constantly scrutinizing and refining my AMCAS application, I completed it prior to the submission date. I was worried-- not too pessimistic about my outcomes, but also not extremely hopeful. I earned my first interview in September and several followed after. I received my first acceptance in October. I felt relieved. Preparing for this career will always have its challenges, but I reminded myself of the difficult journey that many of us have traveled to join the medical field. Persistence, grit, motivation, and discipline will get you there. Having good people around you, mentors that want to see you be successful will get you there. When you are unsure if you are doing things right, just keep going. You will get there.


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Things I Have Thought in Medical School

Carly Guerra, MS2 Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine I can’t do this. I can do this. Oh, I absolutely cannot do this. Do other people stress as much as I do? Do other peop

Repercussions: An Experience with Mental Illness

Cristina Valentín-Rivera, M.D. Some of us have to overcome more challenges than others in order to get where we need to be. I entered medical school with an MCAT score that was higher than approximate

bottom of page